Determine how many bolts are needed to secure a block of steel

In summary, the standard for how many bolts are needed to secure a manifold spacer block is to use two 3/4 - 10 UNC bolts. The shear stress on a bolt is calculated and a safety factor is used to determine if the shear stress is tolerable.
mhrob24
I work in injection molding and I am looking to make some sort of standard for how many bolts are needed to secure what we call a "manifold spacer block". We are constantly battling each other about blocks being under or over secured, and as a manufacturing engineer, I am interested in knowing how much weight a single 3/4-10 UNC bolt can hold before it snaps in half. Below are some images that will hopefully help whoever is reading this understand the system at hand in this problem:

1617405865569.png

1617405721814.png

Side view of the system (this is how the tool is ran in the injection mold press when processing parts. The clamp plates are bolted onto the press platen so the tool hangs sideways as shown):

1617405627321.png
If I can figure this out, knowing how much weight a single bolt can hold, I can create a chart with a range of weights and the minimum number of bolts needed to secure that block (ex: spacer blocks weighing between 250 - 750lbs = two 3/4 - 10 UNC bolts).

I'm pretty sure the first step would be to calculate the shear stress (double shear in this case?) acting on the bolt using a free body diagram — which after some google searching, seems fairly straight forward.

However, what do I do with that value after obtaining it? The charts that I found for socket head cap screws list the "shear STRENGTH" for a single 3/4 - 10 UNC bolt aa 45,000lbs...I know I'm not thinking about this correctly, but when I read that, I am thinking that the chart is telling me that a single 3/4 - 10 UNC bolt can withstand 45,000lbs of shear load before snapping in half...which can't be possible.