Determine the angle which will cause the greatest torque

• Thread starter wannawin
  • Start date

Homework Statement

Given F, b, and h, determine the angle θ which will cause the greatest strain.
http://img844.imageshack.us/img844/5595/cusersjoshappdatalocalt.th.png [Broken]

The Attempt at a Solution

I know to break it up into components so that I get Ma = F(bcosθ+hsinθ). But after that I'm at a loss for what to do.
Intuitively I think the answer is 45, but I'm at a loss for how to prove that mathematically.

Last edited by a moderator:

Answers and Replies

find the answer keeping it [tex]\theta[/tex] only and then look for the value of [tex]\theta[/tex] which can give the maximum value to answer. I'm also very new in engineering so can't say for sure but this method should work.

Last edited:
see, Cos [tex]\theta[/tex] + Sin [tex]\theta[/tex] is to be made maximum

Last edited:
see, Cos [tex]\theta[/tex] + Sin [tex]\theta[/tex] is to made maximum

find the answer keeping it [tex]\theta[/tex] only and then look for the value of [tex]\theta[/tex] which can give the maximum value to answer. I'm also very new in engineering so can't say for sure but this method should work.

I'm not seeing what you're getting at. Maybe its just the wording of your response.

Moment about point A should be maximum to produce maximum strain to the body (okay)

Now resolve the force F:
1. F Cos [tex]\theta[/tex] along vertically downward direction (-Y)
2. F sin [tex]\theta[/tex] along +X direction

Moment about point A = F Cos [tex]\theta[/tex]. b + F sin [tex]\theta[/tex]. h
(clock wise rotation is taken as positive)

Now calculate the value of [tex]\theta[/tex] for which the moment will be maximum.

Moment about point A should be maximum to produce maximum strain to the body (okay)

Now resolve the force F:
1. F Cos [tex]\theta[/tex] along vertically downward direction (-Y)
2. F sin [tex]\theta[/tex] along +X direction