Differential Equations in engineering

In summary, Edwin Gordillo said that he is a second semester student who was asked by his teacher to ask some engineers and scientists about three problems in which differential equations are used. He said that he needs to solve them himself and he wants the help of the community. He listed a few problems he is able to solve but he said that using power series is a more extensive process and he doesn't have as much time. He also listed a link that helps with differential equations.
gordilloedwin
Hi there..

I'm a second semester student and I was asked by my teacher to ask some engineers and scientist about three problems in which differential equations are used, I need to solve them myself using the methods I already know. they can be simple ones because I need to deliver the project in three days.
Since i know there has to be some awesome engineers in here, I please ask you to propose three problems which i would need to use D.E. , they have to be problems i may find in analizing something like a circuit or a material.. i don't know but please keep it "simple", am just in second semester but i do know how to work on D.E. but i have never take them into real life.
The hardest problem for me would be to mathematically modelate the problem.. So there's my request.
Oh .. and if you can tell me if you think D.E. are important and if so, why you think so, your name and the class you teach.. err, and a little initial thought on how to correctly modelate your problem( the initial equiation ). i know many use them as t=0 and from there well you know .. I was not allowed to use any of the problems in Stewart/Calculus nor the Larson/Calculus books :(

I hope information was clear :P

thanks in advance
Edwin Gordillo
IPN

Physics news on Phys.org
Well, in order to help you, I suppose we must first know how much you currently know about DEs. Do you know how to solve 2nd order homogenous linear ODEs? Eg. y'' + 2y' + y =0.