Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Diffusion Quanutm Montecarlo

1. Jun 19, 2011 #1
    Last edited by a moderator: May 5, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 21, 2011 #2
    I'm not an expert in Monte Carlo moves that are inspired by actual dynamics. Anyways: The propagator (equation 128, not 124) gives you the probability that a particle which was at x at t=0 is at y at t=delta t. This is the dynamics you want to simulate. The propagator is a Gaussian in the spatial coordinates. So it seems very sensible to me to simulate this Gaussian probability distribution by using a Gaussian probability distribution for the move from x to a random new y (sidenote: you can also propose moves from a different probability distribution, but then you'd have to reject some of those proposals). The other factor in the propagator is treated in an extra step (I think missing sentence is "If q is greater than 1 the walker survives"), and in a less direct manner.
    I'm not sure if I really understood your question, though. It seems a bit strange to ask why one simulates a Gaussian via a Gaussian (even though it is a good question once you dig a bit deeper), so maybe I missed your point.

Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  4. Jun 21, 2011 #3
    well, i think you did. i was not aware of, that the propagator gives the probability that a particle which was at x at t=0 is at y at t=delta t.

If I got it right, the propagator G is sampled via the Monte Carlo walkers (I assume one uses the Metropolis algorithm) and in a second step the integral right below formula 128 is calculated (via monte carlo integration?). I assume, that the initial density function \rho(y,t) in this integral is arbitrary?

Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  5. Jun 25, 2011 #4
    Hi Derivator,