1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Direction of torque vector tilting a spinning top?

1. Dec 18, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

http://puu.sh/5Qrxt.jpg [Broken]

2. Relevant equations

τ = dL/dt

3. The attempt at a solution

I understand the initial and final angular momentum vectors in the diagram, and the answer seems to make sense.

But when I initially solved it my logic was that since the axle itself is rotating clockwise, then the torque vector causing that would point in to the page due to the right hand rule - why is this reasoning wrong?

To be honest I've never used τ = dL/dt before, it's on our formula sheet but I don't remember learning it

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 18, 2013 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Hi Esoremada! :smile:
    the torque to cause a constant rotation is zero

(same as the force to cause a constant velocity is zero)

in the diagram, the vector L (the angular momentum) for the initial rotation is pointing into the page

the new L is the vector for the new angular momentum

the change in angular momentum, ∆L, is the difference, ie the short vector to the right

all the above is on the RHS of τ = dL/dt

the torque that the question asks for is on the LHS … obviously, it equals lim ∆L/∆t on the RHS :wink:

4. Dec 18, 2013 #3
    Right, I understand that solution, but I don't understand what the problem is with my reasoning that gives the answer in to the page:

The entire system has no torque to begin with, just angular momentum
    The axle itself is then tilted to the right (from the point of view of the diagram)
    This tilt is a clockwise rotation about the centre of mass (again from the point of view of the diagram)