Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Distribution Switchboard -- 3-phase 4-Wire 120/208V: 1200 A Main Distribution

1. Jan 7, 2016 #1
    Hello,

Just looking into some clarrification. If a customer states that they want the following system, what is it they mean (note, it is 3-phase 4W 120/208V:

1200 A MAIN DISTRIBUTION
    C/W:
    1- 600 A house panel feed
    2 - 100 A tenant sections
    2 - 200 A tenant sections

Basically the 1200 A is split up into a 600 A fusible switch, two 200 A fusible switches, and two 100 A fusible switches?

Furthermore, I was told that fusible switches had to be used as opposed to circuit breakers. Can anyone describe why?

Last edited: Jan 7, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 7, 2016 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

I'm not an electrical engineer, but I play one at meetings...

My understanding is that either fused switches or circuit breakers are acceptable (codewise) and it is just a personal preference which one to use --- but today, most people use breakers. I'd ask a superior to clarify, but otherwise ask the client why they have the preference -- only they can know.

That said, I'm not clear what is the description you were provided and what was your interpretation. To me, a "tenant section" is a panel fed from the main switchgear. I don't think fused switches fit in the same panel as little breakers, so I think you are needing a main switchboard with switches feeding each of the 5 sub-panels.

Some light reading: http://static.schneider-electric.us/assets/consultingengineer/appguidedocs/0600DB0601.pdf

4. Jan 8, 2016 #3

CalcNerd

Education Advisor
    Gold Member