Do I need Masters degree in Electrical and Computer science?

In summary, the individual has an undergraduate degree in Electrical Engineering and 8 years of work experience in PCB design, mainly in Validation. They are interested in transitioning to the Signal and Power Integrity field and are considering pursuing a Masters degree in Electrical and Computer Science. Questions arise about how the degree will impact their career and what courses they should take. Factors to consider include the individual's years of experience, career growth, and potential employer support.
nk_1
I have done my Undergrad in Electrical Engineering and I have close to 8 Years of work experience in PCB design and mostly in Validation. I have done Signal Integrity and bit of Power Integrity validation for boards.
I would like to move towards Signal and Power Integrity field. In that case what are the pros and cons of doing a Masters degree in the electrical and computer science field.
1. Will this help me to move forward in my career.
2. What are the courses I should be picking up for getting into the Signal and Power Integrity field

Thanks in advance

Physics news on Phys.org
It's a bit hard to tell without some additional information.

1. How are you measuring that eight years of experience? In other words, did you obtain your bachelors degree eight years ago?

If that's the case you're getting close to that ten year mark where your college degree matters less and less. An advanced degree helps, particularly nowadays where many employers view a masters degree as the entry level degree, but it's not essential.

2. Have you watched your career and learned new things / did new things in that eight years of experience, or have you done the same job multiple times over? The former makes you a much more valuable employee than does the latter. It means you have some leverage (or don't if you fall in the latter category).