Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does forces travel faster than speed of light?

1. Sep 23, 2009 #1
    If speed of light is the upper limit of speed in the universe, how about force? (please refer to example for the paradox)

For example if there is a block of wood 50 light seconds long floating in free space, say it weights only 1 kg and I apply 1 N causing it to accelerate 1m/s^2. So does the acceleration occurs(in the block of wood) after 50 seconds(or maybe 100 seconds) or it happens immediately breaking the speed of light?

Thanks

Last edited: Sep 23, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 23, 2009 #2

George Jones

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

4. Sep 23, 2009 #3
    Sorry, I really do not understand the thread above as I am currently a senior high school student.
    But are they trying to say that the speed of sound is the limit for forces to travel for the block of wood I mention above?

5. Sep 23, 2009 #4
  6. Sep 23, 2009 #5

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

What people in the other two threads are saying is that a perfectly rigid object does not (in fact cannot) exist. When you hit one end of a rod, you are actually hitting the atoms at the end of the rod and causing them to move. Those atoms cause their neighbors to move, which in turn causes their neighbors to move, etc. With a floppy object like a Slinky this is obvious and visible to the naked eye. With a more rigid object like a meter stick, it happens very quickly and is not apparent to the naked eye.

Going further, take a mile-long steel rail and hit one end. It really does take a few seconds before the far end responds, corresponding to the time it takes for sound (mechanical vibrations) to travel along the rail.

Such "influences" cannot propagate through an object faster than the speed of light.

7. Sep 23, 2009 #6

clem

Science Advisor