Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does the ball rotate about its axis?

1. Jul 13, 2010 #1
    Does the ball rotate about its axis?!?!?!

Hi Newbie here,

I have a disagreement with an associate.

I say that a ball on a string moving in a horizontal circular path rotates about an axis perpendicular to the said circle.

He insists that it doesn't as it would wind up the string if it did that.

Which of us is right, and can anyone explain why?

Many thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 13, 2010 #2

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Re: Does the ball rotate about its axis?!?!?!

Consider a similar example: the moon orbiting around the earth. It always keeps the same face turned towards the earth, the same as a ball going around your head on a string.

At any point on the moon's surface except at the poles, the sun rises and sets once every (approximately) earth month, because the moon is rotating around its axis.

4. Jul 13, 2010 #3

My associate and I agree with the moon rotating about its axis as it orbits the earth, but I cannot get him to accept that the ball on a string rotates about its axis as it moves around the circle.

Can you provide an explanation that even a complete fool could understand, as I have tried all sorts of ways of explaining it to him without success.

5. Jul 13, 2010 #4

Doc Al

Draw yourself a diagram of the ball + string at various points along its path as viewed from above. Label various points on the ball's surface for reference (for example, label four arrows N, S, E, and W). The side of the ball where the string attaches always points toward the center. As the ball completes half its revolution about the center, what happens to the orientation of the ball? Do the arrows on the ball still point in their original directions?

6. Jul 13, 2010 #5

Hi Doc,

I tried that one already, and it doesn't convince him.