Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Does the dewpoint dry the air effectively?

1. Dec 12, 2011 #1
    Hi,

I need to do some experiments with completely dry air (I'm a bit of a hobbyist), and need a good sized sample of dry air. I know silica is a desiccant, but only at large humidity values....I was wondering if it would make sense to go outside shortly after the dew has fallen and collect a sample of the air at that time.

Would it be at 0% humidity?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 12, 2011 #2

russ_watters

Staff: Mentor

You won't ever get zero humidity, but when it is very cold outside (as in, first thing in the morning on a winter day) it is at its dryest.

4. Dec 12, 2011 #3

jambaugh

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Your best source of dry air is your freezer.

Let me briefly explain dewpoints and relative humidity.

Water has a vapor pressure which is a function of temperature. Basically the vapor pressure is the pressure at which water will boil at a given temperature. At 212F = 100C the vapor pressure is 1 atmosphere. Below that temperature it is of course lower.

Let's take a temperature of say 20C = 68F. At that temperature the vapor pressure of water is about 2.3% of atmospheric pressure. (water will boil at 0.023atmospheres) So if you sprayed water at this temperature through the air (at 1atm) the humidity would reach 100% saturation and roughly 2.3% of the air would be water vapor.

Now take that saturated air and heat it to say 30C (86F) where water has a vapor pressure of 46.7% of 1 atmosphere. That air would still be 2.3% water but that's only 5% of the total saturation level at that temperature, so the relative humidity is 5%.

So to dry air there are three processes you can use.