1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Doing proofs using the basic properties of numbers, problems

1. Sep 18, 2012 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Prove that if 0 < a < b,
    then a < √ab < (a + b)/2 < b

2. Relevant equations
    To prove this use the 12 properties of numbers (commutativity, trichotomy law, associativity, etc...).

3. The attempt at a solution
    The main problem is I don't know if I need to define the square root function since I'm doing a proof. I'm new to all this, this is my first time doing analysis, so bear with me.
    I assume you break up the inequality into parts, since a<b is already defined, we don't need to prove the whole inequality. So I did the first part, unintutively

a<√ab
    a^2 < (ab)
    (a)(a) (a^-1) < (ab)(a^-1)
    a<b which was assumed thus the inequality is proven

Also
    (a + b)/2 < b
    (a +b)(2^-1) (2) < b(2)
    a < b

Problem is I don't know what to write division of 2 as, since it's not listed in basic property. Also I don't know how to prove the 2 centre terms of the inequality: √ab < (a + b)/2

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 18, 2012 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award