Double slit results that I can't explain, help

In summary, the conversation is about a university student seeking help with their lab assignment involving a laser, slits, and a CCD camera. They are getting unexpected results and are unsure why. After discussing the setup and measurements, it is determined that the slit size is significantly larger than the wavelength of the light source being used, which explains the lack of diffraction and interference patterns. The student expresses gratitude for the quick response and learns about the differences between Fraunhofer and Fresnel diffraction.
Yakult
Hi there!

I'm currently sat in the lab working on one of my uni assignments (I'm in my second year at Exeter, UK), and I'm getting results that I just don't understand, so thought that someone here might know what's going on! :smile:

We're using a laser (through two lenses: I think one's an attenuator, but I can't remember what the other one is) that's being shone through different slits, and then onto a CCD camera, and the resulting patterns are recorded on the computer. We got good results when it went through the single slits (by good I mean nice central maxima), but when we moved onto double slits everything went strange.

We're getting results that look like the attached image below (sorry for the crudeness of the diagram, but you get the idea)

We get these regardless of the slit seperation, and for slit widths greater than 0.25mm!

Surely we should get a central maxima and then loads of smaller maxima, and not a central minimum? Our demonstrator mentioned something called "aperture diffraction" as a possible reason, but when pressed didn't really seem to know what that was.

Any ideas?

Thankyouuu! :smile:

Will

Attachments

• weirdphsyicsshi.jpg
    weirdphsyicsshi.jpg
    7 KB · Views: 419
Physics news on Phys.org
What is the wavelength of your light source? Compare that with the size of the slit.

Zz.