Earning an Associate's While Pursuing a Bachelor's Degree with Minor

In summary, an Associate's degree with no extra classes is an intriguing option, but it is unclear if it would be beneficial for me to pursue this route. It is also unclear what other route I should pursue if I decide to go ahead with the associate's degree.
Cod
I received an email this afternoon from my advisor explaining I have the potential to earn an associate’s degree while pursuing my bachelor’s degree. Currently, I’m majoring in Computer Science with a minor in Mathematical Sciences; however, the possibility of earning an associate’s with no extra classes is intriguing. The overall concept of a minor versus an associate’s degree is a little confusing, so I wanted to get a consensus regarding the most valuable route to take.

Would it be beneficial for me to go ahead and earn the associate’s degree in mathematics and continue pursuing the mathematical sciences minor? Should I get my associate’s in mathematics and change my minor to another interest? Or should I forget the associate’s and focus solely on my B.S. and current minor?

Bottom line, I want to study subjects I enjoy while ensuring I am very marketable upon leaving the military (if I decide to part with it).

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Physics news on Phys.org
It's pretty unusual for a four-year school to even grant Associate's degrees.

I don't think that an AA degree and a minor all very different. Moreover, I don't think they're seen as by employers as very different.

Except in one way, maybe: a student can only earn a minor if they also earn a Bachelor's. An Associates can be granted as a stand-alone degree.