Electric potential due to a solid sphere

In summary, the conversation is about a person who is studying electrostatics using a specific textbook and is having trouble solving a problem involving finding the potential inside and outside of a charged sphere. They discuss using different formulas and mention a calculation using the last formula. They also mention a confusion about the volume element and clarify it by referencing Griffiths' book. Finally, there is a clarification about the symbols used for the position of the point and the charge element.
Marcus Nielsen
Member advised to use the homework template for posts in the homework sections of PF.
Hello Guys! This is my first post so bear with me. I am currently studying the basics of electrostatics using the textbook "Introduction to electrodynamics 3 edt. - David J. Griffiths". My problem comes when i try to solve problem 2.21.

Find the potential V inside and outside a uniformly charged solid sphere whose radius is R and whose total charge is q. Use infinity as your reference point. Compute the gradient of V in each region, and check that it yields the correct field. Sketch V(r).

Using the equation [itex] V(r) = \int\limits_O^r \boldsymbol{E} \cdot \mathrm{d} \boldsymbol{l} [/itex] and Gauss law [itex] \oint \boldsymbol{E} \cdot \mathrm{d} \boldsymbol{a} = \frac{Q_{enc}}{\epsilon_0} [/itex], I can solve the problem and get the same answer as in this guide http://www.physicspages.com/2011/10/08/electric-potential-examples/ first example. But my problem appears when I want to use the formula [itex] V(\boldsymbol{r})= \frac{1}{4 \pi \epsilon_0} \int \frac{\rho(\boldsymbol{r'})}{\eta} \mathrm{d}\tau' [/itex] where [itex] \boldsymbol{\eta} = \boldsymbol{r}-\boldsymbol{r}' [/itex] as defined in Griffiths textbook.

This is my calculation using the last formula.

We got a solid sphere with radius R and total charge q, therefore [itex] \rho = \frac{q}{\frac{4}{3} \pi R^3} [/itex]

[tex]
\begin{align*}