1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electrical engineering vs. nuclear engineering

1. Aug 20, 2014 #1
    Hi, everyone.

I am a student studying physics in one of colleges in Wisconsin, and this school has a program called Dual Engineering. Through this program, I will get a physics BS degree and study one type of engineering in UW-Madison for another BS.

I really debate myself these days between electrical engineering and nuclear engineering.

If I choose EE, I will focus on Communications and Signal Processing for BS and MS degree.

If I choose NE, I will focus on Radiation Science for BS and medical physics for MS degree.

I know they have a big difference, the demand. So far as I know, it is not hard to get a job with EE MS degree, but it is with medical physics MS even though it guarantees high wage if I get a job for it in hospital.

I need advice to decide the issue. I will appreciate any comment. Thank you!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 21, 2014 #2
    “Fall in love with some activity, and do it! Nobody ever figures out what life is all about, and it doesn't matter. Explore the world. Nearly everything is really interesting if you go into it deeply enough. Work as hard and as much as you want to on the things you like to do the best. Don't think about what you want to be, but what you want to do. Keep up some kind of a minimum with other things so that society doesn't stop you from doing anything at all.”
    - Richard Feynman

Do what you love.

4. Aug 21, 2014 #3

jim hardy

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Do your interests lean toward academia of industry ?

I can tell you about one niche industry, nuclear power.