1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electrodynamics Continuity Equation

1. Feb 22, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    I am currently studying for a quiz and then following a test in my Electrodynamics test. Right now I am struggling to define the following:
    Continuity equation and its physical meaning

2. Relevant equations
    The Continuity Equation is given as the following:
    ∇J=-∂ρ/∂t

3. The attempt at a solution
    There is no solution, I just know that it is the mathematical statement of a local charge conservation (defined by Griffiths). So what is the physical meaning? Can someone help me wrap my head around this concept?

Last edited: Feb 22, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 22, 2013 #2

vela

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Education Advisor

You have a typo. It should be
    $$\frac{\partial\rho}{\partial t} = \nabla\cdot \vec{J}.$$ It might be easier for you to understand in integral form. If you integrate the equation over a volume V bounded by a closed surface S, you get
    $$\frac{\partial}{\partial t}\int_V \rho\,dv = \int_V (\nabla\cdot \vec{J})\,dv = \oint_S \vec{J}\cdot d\vec{S}$$ where the last equality is the divergence theorem. Can you interpret that equation?

4. May 10, 2013 #3