What chapters can I skip when self-studying Griffiths electrodynamics?

In summary: No. It is not a requirement to use Griffiths in this course.In summary, the author is studying electrodynamics on their own and wants to be done with it once and for all. There is no such thing as being done with a physics book once and for all, and what is important for the rest of physics depends on the goals of the student. Skipping certain topics may result in lost continuity in learning, so it is best to complete the entire book.
Ahmed1029
I'm currently studying Griffiths electrodynamics on my own and I want to be done with it once and for all. I however don't know if all the chapters are important for the rest of physics and which ones can be skipped without loss of continuity. Can someone give me some insight?

Likes Delta2
Physics news on Phys.org
Ahmed1029 said:
important for the rest of physics
Depends on what physics you want to learn and practice.

Likes Demystifier and Vanadium 50
What do you mean by ”rest of physics”? Nobody knows (or needs to know) everything that falls within the physics subject. The answer depends on your goals.

Furthermore there is no general agreement between textbook authors to keep the contents of books within strictly defined frames. There will be overlap between books and you can always go back to a previous book for reference. As such, there is no such thing as being done with a physics book once and for all.

Likes hutchphd, vela, Ahmed1029 and 2 others
Ahmed1029 said:
I however don't know if all the chapters are important for the rest of physics and which ones can be skipped without loss of continuity.
Which ones were you thinking of skipping? Which ones have you completed?
Table of Contents:

Vector Analysis
Electrostatics
Potentials
Electrostatic Fields in Matter
Magnetostatics
Magnetic Fields in Matter
Electrodynamics
Conservation Laws
Electromagnetic Waves
Potentials and Fields
Radiation
Electrodynamics and Relativity