Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Electronic configuration of transition elements

1. Mar 28, 2016 #1
    I know about quantum numbers and how we do it as 1s,2s,2p,3s,3p,3d etc....but how do I find the number of valence electrons by doing this ?
    I watched so many videos about this topic and I still don't get it.Possibly because I am trying to learn the portions before even it is taught at school.Can somebody please help me ?
    P.S this is not homework.I am just learning things.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 28, 2016 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

Start with the definition of the valence electrons.
    It took me a while to get it - most people seem to just memorize the rules.
    What education level are you trying this at?

4. Mar 28, 2016 #3
    I am just about to enter high school.But I think I can learn this soon if I I'm explained about this clearly.

5. Mar 28, 2016 #4

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

It's actually a tad above your level... but like I say: because of the statistical nature of QM, the electron bound to an atom is well described as a cloud of charge.
    You get ionic bonds where the cloud pokes out a bit to one side and you get covalent bonds when the clouds overlap so they surround both nuclei.
    Look up "spherical harmonics".
    To get a good picture you need to know about probability.

6. Mar 28, 2016 #5

Borek

Staff: Mentor

Every orbital holds two electrons, yes?

Do you know in what order electrons are placed on the orbitals? It is described by the Aufbau principle (google it, it happens to be quite simple).

Valence electrons are basically those on the latest occupied shell (the one with the highest principle quantum number).