Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Equation of motion from the action

1. Sep 18, 2015 #1
    Hello Physics Forums!

Supposing that we have an action that says:
    $$L=\frac{1}{2}R-g_{C\bar{D}}\partial_{\mu}z^C\partial^{\mu}\bar{z}^D+\frac{1}{4} + \frac{1}{4}ImM_{IJ}F^I_{\mu\nu}\cdot F^{J\mu\nu} +\frac{1}{4}ReM_{IJ}F^I_{\mu\nu}\cdot \tilde{F}^{J\mu\nu}$$
    where $$\tilde{F}^I_{\mu\nu}=\frac{1}{2}\epsilon_{\mu\nu}^{\mu'\nu'}F^I_{\mu'\nu'}$$
    If I want to find the equation of motion of this, I know I can start from action and use the Euler Lagrange equation or directly use d*F=0 (Maxwell's equation).

This is one of the very rare times where I encounter general relativity as I am still a second year physics student. I have seen this sort of action (but way simpler) in my classical mechanics course) where we almost always use the Euler-Lagrange equation or vary the action with respect to the functional term and set it equal to zero and VOILA! you get the equation of motion you need. Here though I am finding a little of difficulty. The thing is that what was found for this action was the following answer:
    $$d(ReM_{IJ}F^J+ImM_{IJ}\tilde{F}^J)=0.$$
    I have tried so manyy ways to derive this but failed at it.