1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Experienced Physicist Looking to construct Particleaccelerator

1. Jul 13, 2010 #1
    I am an aspiring physicist looking to construct a functioning small-scale particleaccelerator for my 8th grade science fair. I am aware of the complexity of this endeavor and have multiple means of completing it at my disposal, including some very generous parents.
    My interest and credibility in the field of particle and nuclear physics has spawned from my completion of a Inertial Electrostatic Containment fusion device (a fusor) for my 7th grade science fair.
    Unfortunately, I am still inexperienced with many aspects of particle acceleration and so I am here seeking the aid of professionals.
    I first planned to construct a cyclotron, as I have a high-voltage power source (15 keV) and would prefer a somewhat high yield from the device. However, I am now leaning to constructing a linear accelerator, due to its ease of construction (but I am skeptical of how much juice I would be able to get out of it.)
    Could I use a Van De Graff generator to power a simple tubular Linac?
    I have done extensive research in past months and would like to complete this project by February, 2011.
    I am looking forward to hearing from my fellow physicists for instruction, tips or even criticism.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jul 13, 2010 #2

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2017 Award

You are not an experienced physicist - you are an 8th grader.

Anything involving high voltage is dangerous. It would be irresponsible to encourage an 8th grader to work with high voltage. If the 8th grader is irresponsible enough to misrepresent himself as an "experienced physicist", this becomes doubly so.