Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Extruder Head: Cable manufacturing

1. Sep 19, 2010 #1
    Hi,

I'm having trouble producing 22 AWG polypropylene cable. I keep on getting "missing insulation" and "reduced insulation".

The Extruder Head I'm using is quite old and I'm not sure that it is "centered". But a mechanical engineer told me not to worry, it doesn't mater if the Head is positioned to the side a bit, the conductor going into it will "self-center" itself! He was very adamant that the concept of self-centering works. I'm not sure how that works, because I'm not a mechanical engineer.

I'm thinking about getting a preheater, but I'm hoping for a lower cost solution (I was told the preheater is $30k).

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 19, 2010 #2

Danger

Gold Member

I must admit that from an engineering standpoint, I have no idea what the hell you're talking about. Going strictly by the English language, it makes sense, but I might not be grasping the finer details that an engineer would.
    $30,000 for a pre-heater??!! WTF?! You don't have to bathe the bloody thing in liquid gold just to warm it up.
    I have no idea of what scale is involved, so I'm just going to toss out an idea or 3. Microwave or ultrasonic heating on-station. Deposit the cable in a steel tube and run it through an induction coil. Maybe high-intensity IR lamps.
    I can probably think of some other stuff in the future, but that's it for now. I am currently on my 31st, 32nd, and 33rd shots of Scotch (I like to car-pool), so my analytical abilities are somewhat stifled.

4. Sep 21, 2010 #3
    soltice_9: