1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Field Extensions - Dummit and Foote - Exercise 13, 13.2 ...

1. May 21, 2017 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I am reading Dummit and Foote, Chapter 13 - Field Theory.

I am currently studying Section 13.2 : Algebraic Extensions

I need some help with Exercise 13 of Section 13.2 ... ... indeed, I have not been able to make a meaningful start on the problem ... ...

As indicated above I need help in order to make a meaningful or significant start on the solution to this exercise .. ...

Exercise 13 of Section 13.2 reads as follows:

?temp_hash=c965ff8e6de11c5cfb54df5b4a4fd426.png

2. Relevant equations

Definitions that may be relevant to solving this exercise include the following:

A result which seems relevant is Lemma 16 plus the remarks that follow its proof ... Lemma 16 and the following remarks read as follows:

3. The attempt at a solution

As indicated above I need help in order to make a meaningful or significant start on the solution to this exercise .. ...

One thought, though ... there must be some way to use ##\alpha_i^2 \in \mathbb{Q}## ... perhaps in establishing the dimension of ##F( \alpha_1 , \alpha_2, \ ... \ ... \ \ \alpha_{k + 1} )## over ##F( \alpha_1 , \alpha_2, \ ... \ ... \ \ \alpha_{k } )## ... and hence getting some knowledge of the dimension of ##F( \alpha_1 , \alpha_2, \ ... \ ... \ \ \alpha_n )## over ##\mathbb{Q}## ... but even if we do gain such knowledge, how do we use it to show ##\sqrt [3]{2} \notin F## ... ...

... AND FURTHER ... anyway ... what is implied by ##\alpha_i^2 \in \mathbb{Q}## ... ... ???

Help will be much appreciated ...

Peter

Last edited: May 21, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. May 21, 2017 #2

fresh_42

Staff: Mentor