1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Finding rotation axis and angle, using eigenvalues

1. Sep 7, 2015 #1
    • Member warned about posting with no template
    http://im54.gulfup.com/ZtJZd5.png [Broken]

http://im54.gulfup.com/SJgJXh.png [Broken]

Till now compared with other subjects that I studied by my self, linear algebra is really the toughest one :bow:

Anyway, here I found a plane using characteristic eq. which really surprised me since det(M)=1, M is the matrix I've posted.

##-2x+y+z=0## , how is that? a rotation around plane! in which dimension that's possible!, as the book did I took a vector satisfy the plane that's ##(1,1,1)##, then I found ##\theta = π##

Everything is correct according to book solution. But I'm not convinced yet! a plane has a lot of vectors in many directions nevertheless we derived the axis of rotation from plane eq.?! that's really weird.

Thanks a lot guys.

Last edited by a moderator: May 7, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2015 #2

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

There is no rotation around a plane. It is reflection in a plane followed by (or preceded by, as the two operations commute) a rotation around the normal to the plane (a plane only has one normal). The axis of rotation is the straight line through the origin in the direction of that normal.

4. Sep 8, 2015 #3
    But the determinant shows no reflection ?

5. Sep 8, 2015 #4

andrewkirk

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Then in that case you don't need to bother with a plane. Just find the axis of rotation. It will be the line through the origin in the direction of the eigenvector with an associated eigenvalue of 1.

6. Sep 8, 2015 #5