Finding the Slope of Secant and Tangent Lines

In summary: Just remember to use the derivative of the parabola to find the slope of the tangent line at point P. In summary, the conversation discusses finding the slope of a secant line, the slope of a tangent line, and the equation of the tangent line at a given point on a parabola. The methods for solving for these values are verified and found to be correct.
cvc121

Homework Statement

The points P (2,-1) and Q (3,-4) lie on the parabola y = -x2+2x-1
a) Find the slope of the secant line PQ.
b) Find the slope of the tangent line to the parabola to the parabola at P.
c) Find the equation of the tangent line at P.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I am just new to calculus and am having trouble determining the slope of a secant and tangent line. My attempt at the questions are attached. Can anyone verify my work to see if I am on the right track? Are my methods for solving for the slopes correct? Thanks! All help is very much appreciated!

Attachments

• 20160226_203054[1].jpg
    20160226_203054[1].jpg
    35.9 KB · Views: 790
Physics news on Phys.org
Yup. Looks good.

cvc121 said:

Homework Statement

The points P (2,-1) and Q (3,-4) lie on the parabola y = -x2+2x-1
a) Find the slope of the secant line PQ.
b) Find the slope of the tangent line to the parabola to the parabola at P.
c) Find the equation of the tangent line at P.

Homework Equations

The Attempt at a Solution

I am just new to calculus and am having trouble determining the slope of a secant and tangent line. My attempt at the questions are attached. Can anyone verify my work to see if I am on the right track? Are my methods for solving for the slopes correct? Thanks! All help is very much appreciated!
It looks fine.

20160226_203054-1-jpg.96503.jpg

1. What is the difference between the slope of a secant and tangent line?