Floating Point Notation Question

In summary, the student is trying to find the M values for a floating-point number, but is stuck. They have found expressions for the E1 and E0 values, but do not know how to approach the M values. They have found a way to combine some of the statements into shorter expressions, but they are not sure how to use them in a boolean logic way.
fazer2014
Hi everyone! I'm very new to combinational logic design and this is a question on an assignment that we've been given. This particular situation wasn't covered in lecture material so I've been Googling and trying to think abstractly about it but I'm pretty stuck for an approach. And I'm not looking for an answer - just some guidance as to how to approach it.
I HAVE found the Boolean expression for the exponent (E) but cannot find an approach that works for finding the M values.

Homework Statement

A binary integer B in the range 0 ≤ B < 27 can be represented by 7 bits in “fixed-point” format, B = B6 B5 B4 B3 B2 B1 B0. We can represent numbers in the same range with less precision using 6 bits in a floating-point notation, F = M·2E, where M is a 4-bit mantissa M = M3 M2 M1 M0 and E is a 2-bit exponent E = E1 E0. In this system, the smallest integer is 0·20 and the largest is 15·23. We can write B = M ·2E +T where the truncation error T satisfies 0 ≤ T < 2E .

Design a combinational circuit which takes as input the 7-bit unsigned binary integer B = B6 B5 B4 B3 B2 B1 B0 and which outputs the 4-bit mantissa M = M3 M2 M1 M0 and the 2-bit exponent E = E1 E0 of the floating-point representation of the number. You do not need to sketch the circuit, rather you should write down a sum-of-products expression for each of the six ouput variables in terms of the input variables. As always, you should explain the reasoning behind your design.

Homework Equations

Simple combinational logic gates I guess?

The Attempt at a Solution