Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Flux of the vector field F = (1,1,1)

1. Apr 20, 2010 #1
    I'm studying for a test.
    How do I find the flux of the vector field F = (1,1,1) down through the surface [tex]\sigma[/tex], given by z = [tex]\sqrt{x^2+y^2}[/tex] and 1 < z < 2. The answer is 3pi but have no idea how to get it. I got it down to[tex]\int\int_R[/tex] x+y/[tex]\sqrt{x^2+y^2}[/tex] +1 dA. Now what?

Last edited: Apr 20, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 20, 2010 #2

tiny-tim

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Hi squenshl! :smile:

(have a sigma: σ and a square-root: √ and an integral: ∫ and a pi: π and try using the X2 tag just above the Reply box :wink:)

Use the divergence theorem (Gauss' theorem) :smile:

(oh, and it's a cone :wink:)

4. Apr 20, 2010 #3

HallsofIvy

Science Advisor

Re: Flux

As tiny-tim says, the simplest thing to do is to use Gauss' theorem and integrate over the volume instead. If you want to do it directly, write the cone in parametric equations, [itex]x= r cos(\theta)[/itex], [itex]y= r sin(\theta)[/itex], [itex]z= r[/itex].

Now we can write each point as the vector [itex]\rho(r,\theta)= r cos(\theta)\vec{i}+ r sin(\theta)\vec{j}+ r\vec{k}[/itex].

The derivatives, [itex]\rho_r= cos(\theta)\vec{i}+ sin(\theta)\vec{j}+ \vec{k}[/itex] and [itex]\rho_\theta= -r sin(\theta)\vec{i}+ r cos(\theta)\vec{j}[/itex] are in the tangent plane at each point and the cross product of the two vectors, [itex]r cos(\theta)\vec{i}+ r sin(\theta)\vec{j}+ r\vec{k}[/itex] is normal to the surface. The "vector differential of surface area" is [itex]d\vec{S}= (r cos(\theta)\vec{i}+ r sin(\theta)\vec{j}+ r\vec{k})drd\theta)[/itex].

(I chose the order of cross product to give a negative z component so the vector is oriented downward since the problem said "down through the surface".)