Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Four bar linkage odd behaviour? (Simscape Multibody)

1. Jul 31, 2016 #1
    Dear community,

I posted this thread in Mathworks Simscape Community two days ago or so. And I have decided to record a video and post all the information in this forum. This is my first time, so hello and thanks for reading!

Last month I was playing around with Simscape Multibody and I realised something. They have a "four bar linkage" preset to simulate its physical behaviour, so I changed a bit the initial positions and I found this:

I have simulated the same mechanism in Autodesk Inventor and It behaves as I expected (as a pendulum). I supposed that the simmetric position in this case should be the equilibrium position, the attractor.

Then, I decided to create a new simulation in Matlab and this very weird situation popped up. But I do not see why, how, where... I mean, It goes far beyond my understanding.

Some data are:

-Connector Link (Yellow bar):
    -Density: 1000 kg/m^3
    -Volume: 10x2x0.5 cm^3

-Rocker Link (Red bar):
    -Density: 100 kg/m^3
    -Volume: 25x2x0.5 cm^3

-Crank Link (Blue bar):
    -Density: 100 kg/m^3
    -Volume: 25x2x0.5 cm^3

Conditions:
    -No friction.
    -No external foces.
    -Just gravitation acting.
    -State targets (initial positions): specified in the video. Sorry about the size. Please watch full screen in 1080.

I would appreciate your comments on this issue, please, I really need it...

Thanks again!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 1, 2016 #2

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

So, what exactly is the issue? Looks to me like the simulation is not reflecting reality due to some minuscule unbalance in forces.

4. Aug 1, 2016 #3
    Thanks for your feedback Mech_Engineer, really appreciate it.