Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Gear basics - changing axis of rotation

1. May 22, 2010 #1
    hi everyone! I'm sorry if this seems like a really easy question, but...

Suppose I have a device in which manually rotating gear A clockwise causes gear B to rotate clockwise. If gear A and gear B are at a weird angle to each other (say 35 degrees), what sort of intermediate parts could I use to achieve this rotation?

I've been reading about bevel gears and helical gears, but it seems like bevel gears are only used to change the axis of rotation by 90 degrees? I could be mistaken. Any thoughts on possible configurations are appreciated! Especially well-known configurations for this kind of thing.

(sorry if this seems really noobish! I'm actually a comp sci student with this newfound interest in mechanical engineering as of this summer.)

2. jcsd
  3. May 22, 2010 #2

Averagesupernova

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Just have the driven gear turned around facing the opposite direction.

4. May 23, 2010 #3
    The axes don't have to be at 90 degrees, that's just probably the most common configuration.

5. May 23, 2010 #4
    oh cool! so bevel gears specifically can be used at random angles like 35? or other types?

6. May 23, 2010 #5

jack action

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bevel_gear" [Broken]:

Beve_gear_schematic.png

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  7. Apr 14, 2011 #6
    what about helical gears?

8. Apr 15, 2011 #7
    What about them?

9. Apr 17, 2011 #8
    can they be used at random angles? 120 degrees?

10. Apr 20, 2011 #9
    I believe that Helical can only be used at angles similar to that of "Spur gears" (the one most commonly seen by younger kids, the basic one). Basically they can be parallel-axis or cross-axis.

parallel:
    cross:

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2014