Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

General respect level: physics or math?

1. Dec 26, 2006 #1
    Just wondering, what is the general consensus on whether physics or math is a more respectable and "harder" intellectual field. I'm a mathematician, and I know both can be very hard, but just wanted to know on a simple level. I'm asking this in the same light as how people usually rank the sciences in terms of their difficulty/pureness/respect level (eg. bio< chem < ...)

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 26, 2006 #2

radou

Homework Helper

There is a joke which says: 'Chemists think they're physicians; physicians think they're mathematicians; mathematicians think they're gods.'

Joke aside, I don't think one can draw conclusions about that in general. Of course, for example, knowing a lot math makes it easier for one to learn some physics, but that means nothing.

4. Dec 26, 2006 #3

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

A physician is a doctor, as in medical doctor. I think you might have meant physicist.

5. Dec 26, 2006 #4

radou

Homework Helper

Yes, I meant physicist, thanks.

6. Dec 26, 2006 #5
    Well considering the focus of western medicine to fix everything will a pill.. :wink:

7. Dec 26, 2006 #6
    From my undergradate experiences, I'd consider the levels of difficulty from most to least: experimental physics<pure maths<theoretical physics<applied maths

I put experimental physics at the top due to my lack of experience with experimental science and low level of kowledge of general physics (i.e. how things work) and the huge amount of vaguenss that occurs in undergrad lab classes which really puts me off.