1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum General textbook within the area of physics

1. Feb 22, 2017 #1
    Hi everyone!

I wanted to put a quick post up on the forum! I'm a final year undergraduate chemistry student, and my dissertation topic involves using molecular quantum dynamics to simulate charge-transfer at a solar cell heterojunction. My knowledge of quantum mechanics is acceptable, but I'm looking for a good general textbook within the area of physics.
    Quantum mechanics is something I hope to work with for my Ph.D, but I have a general interest in physics and would like a textbook for an undergraduate student. I assume to fully understand quantum theory, I need to understand classical physics to a fairly high level? My mathematical ability isn't quite 'physicist' level yet, but I'm fairly well versed in Calculus I,II and my Linear Algebra is getting better.

Thanks a lot!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 22, 2017 #2
    Your post is a little confusing. Is this textbook for you or your friend? Do you want to learn quantum mechanics or classical physics?

4. Feb 22, 2017 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Have you studied any physics already as part of your chemistry degree, and if so, using which textbook? In the US, chemistry bachelors degrees normally include at least first-year introductory physics at the level of e.g. Halliday/Resnick/Walker Fundamentals of Physics. Also, physical chemistry includes includes some quantum mechanics IIRC. I don't know what it's like in other countries.

5. Feb 22, 2017 #4