1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Getting low marks even when you study hard

1. Nov 8, 2017 #1
    • Post edited to remove offensive language
    Hi, I have been upset lately due to getting a low mark in one of the most important courses in my life. I am a fourth year nuclear engineering student. I have been an average student since high school. my uni gpa is average too. I don't know if it's the way I study is what I am doing wrong or what. Here is a brief of my life /studying.

I am a rugby player, healthy person, I drink on weekends . Big fan of coffee . introverted

Studying. I study daily by rewriting professor's notes " Is that a waste of time "? . how do u guys study for core engineering courses ? doing problems isn't the best option since books have no manual and we dont have past papers also exams are usually based on derivations and mainly memorising the math .

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 8, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 8, 2017 #2
    When you say you rewrite the professor's notes, while you do this are you forcing yourself to understand each line that you write down? Or are you simply copying penstrokes?

4. Nov 8, 2017 #3

symbolipoint

Homework Helper
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

What! No exercises in your books? Study them regardless of any answer keys. How do your solutions compare to what your class mates find? Also, are you asking professors for help? Are they refusing any? They might be, which would be a big problem if no solution manuals nor answer keys.

About rewriting classtime lecture notes, good idea. Use your book to help understand, and rewrite your notes to organize them better.

5. Nov 8, 2017 #4

Mark44

Staff: Mentor