Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Good (free) resource for learning basic mechanical engineering

1. Mar 14, 2012 #1
    Hi there, I'm a biomedical engineering undergrad currently enrolled in an university whose engineering program is about as masochistic as any other. I'm doing pretty damn well in all my classes not named "biomechanics", which I attribute to my continued inability to learn much of anything at the ungodly hour of 8 AM. This would be fine if our textbook were not terrible and provided solutions worked through in detail, but it is terrible and does not show you how to solve problems or offer you any answers so that you might check your work and learn from your mistakes. It's also a bad book in its own right, the very special way that engineering textbooks are sometimes overly heady and yet simultaneously extremely condescending in what it assumes you do not know; this book has described to me in some detail how to compute the area of a circle but did not take the time to explain the force-weirdness of cantilever beams. On a very basic level, what we have here is a failure to communicate.

I need a different book. The best thing I could do right now is find a comprehensive and well-written book that works through problems in detail and costs me less than the one penny I (really don't) have on a student budget. Biomechanics being essentially mechanical engineering with bones instead of beams, I figured this is the best place to ask for a quality MCE text. So what would you guys recommend? Even if the book's not free, throw some suggestions out there...while it's kind of a hassle, I can probably get it through Worldcat or some jazz like that.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 14, 2012 #2

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

When you say "mechanical engineering" which topic are you specifically trying to read about?
    • Structural Mechanics