1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Good physics books for someone who is not a complete beginner.

1. Nov 13, 2014 #1
    I am already familiar with High school math and physics. I have also studied Calculus(vector included), Differential Equations and basic electrodynamics in freshman year in college and I want to take it a step further. Which books should I study to strengthen my physics background if I want to pursue higher education in the field ? Currently, I am studying aerospace engineering.

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 13, 2014 #2
    Well, if you are a college student, surely you can take physics courses?

Also, when you say you want to pursue higher education, do you mean in aerospace engineering or physics?

4. Nov 14, 2014 #3
    Yes, I can take physics courses and I do plan to take a few in the upcoming semesters. Although, there can be time-table constraints with some of my core courses and also, there are prerequisites to most of the courses. I have two months before the next semester starts. So, I 'd like to get myself familiar with the next level topics beforehand.

I want to go for higher education in astronomy and astrophysics.

5. Aug 12, 2015 #4
    For your background, I would recommend the following first:

Classical Mechanics by Taylor
    Classical Electrodynamics by Griffiths

These should be relatively easy for you given your stated math profile, but you'll learn a lot with relatively little suffering. Once you are done with those (or at least with the "required" chapters in each) you can move up to more difficult material, such as:

Classical Mechanics by Goldstein AND/OR Landau (yes, CM again)
    Modern Electrodynamics by Zwangwill OR Classical Electrodynamics by Schwinger (yes, ED again)