Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ground-state energy of harmonic oscillator(operator method)

1. Dec 12, 2015 #1
    I studied this from Griffith Chapter 2, with the algebraic (raising and lowering operator) method, we reached the ground state by setting a_Ψ0 = 0 , then we got what the ground state is, and then plugged it in the Schrodinger equation to know the energy, and it turned out to be 0.5 ħω.
    My question is, if the lowering operator decreases the energy every time with ħω, how come the E0 isn't ħω ? so that when the lowering operator acts on it, it gives E=0 .
    I know I am getting something wrong here but I can't put my hand on it.

Note: I am not familiar with the Dirac notations. If you planned on explaining using them.

Last edited: Dec 12, 2015
  2. jcsd
  3. Dec 12, 2015 #2

stevendaryl

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

The energy of a harmonic oscillator is given by:

[itex](-\hbar^2/2m \frac{\partial^2}{\partial x^2} + \frac{1}{2} m \omega^2 x^2) \psi = E \psi[/itex]

If you define the operators [itex]a[/itex] and [itex]a^\dagger[/itex] by:

[itex]a = +\sqrt{\frac{\hbar}{2 m \omega}} \frac{\partial}{\partial x} + \sqrt{\frac{m \omega}{2 \hbar}} x[/itex]
    [itex]a^\dagger = -\sqrt{\frac{\hbar}{2 m \omega}} \frac{\partial}{\partial x} + \sqrt{\frac{m \omega}{2 \hbar}} x[/itex]

then the above equation can be rewritten as:

[itex](a^\dagger a + \frac{1}{2}) \hbar \omega \psi = E \psi[/itex]

So the lowest energy level is when [itex]a^\dagger a \psi = 0[/itex], meaning [itex]E = \frac{1}{2}\hbar \omega[/itex]

4. Dec 12, 2015 #3

blue_leaf77

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper