Group Theory + Fermat's Little Number Theorem

In summary: But then I had a very good teacher -- who might also have been a very good expositor and written a very good book. Or not.I don't remember what I did for group theory. I remember the course (and the teacher) but not the book (if any).In summary, the conversation discusses a problem from a math text about group theory and quantum mechanics. The problem involves proving that for a group of order (p-1), where p is a prime, with elements 1,2,...,(p-1) and group multiplication defined as multiplication mod p, for any element A of the group, A^(p-1) is equal to the multiplicative identity. The conversation includes different approaches to solving the problem
mufusisrad
This isn't a homework problem as it is me working through some math texts in order to add some "rigor" to my physics/engineering acumen. As an undergrad, I attempted to take a course in abstract algebra, but had to drop it due to scheduling problems. I've been working through my copy of Hungerford and am using Tinkham's "Group Theory and Quantum Mechanics" to supplement the rather minimal treatment of group theory while providing some good practical problems. This problem is from the first chapter of Tinkham.

Homework Statement

Consider a group of order (p-1), where p is a prime, with elements 1,2,..,(p-1) and group multiplcation is defined as multiplcation mod p. Prove that for any element of the group, A, the following relationship holds: A^(p-1)=E (the multiplicative identity).

Homework Equations

This is equivalent to proving that for a given integer, N, and a prime, P, that N^P is congruent to N modulo P.

The Attempt at a Solution

The solution I have is very simple, but I feel as if it is missing something

-Assume that any element, A, generates a cyclic subgroup of order k, s.t. A^k=E.
-By Lagrange's theorem, k must be an integer divisor of (p-1), the order of the larger group. This leads to n*k=(p-1).