1. PF Contest - Win "Conquering the Physics GRE" book! Click Here to Enter
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Health physics or medical physics

1. Jun 26, 2010 #1
    I'm looking into a career change to health physics or medical physics from analytical chemistry (in the pharmaceutical industry). For medical physics, I think I'm going to run into CAMPEP drama due to timing, so am leaning more towards health physics.

For health physics, will I be limited to nuclear plants as employers or will anyplace that needs an RSO want a health physicist?

I have a master's degree in chemistry (P Chem emphasis) and an undergraduate physics minor with classical and quantum mechanics, but no E&M. I also have 27 graduate hours in mathematics. Is my preparation reasonably adequate to begin studying health physics?

I have some more questions, but want to do some more research before posting them.

Thank you!
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 27, 2010 #2
    Did some more research and found out that in my state (NY), I can become licensed as a Med. Physicist for Nuclear Medicine or Medical Health Physics through board exams of organizations other than ABR, so maybe medical physics is still a possibility.

Is medical health physics more or less an RSO for a medical organization? If so, would a medical organization want the RSO to wear another hat too?
  4. Jun 27, 2010 #3
    May I ask what exactly "health physics" is? I'm doing my PhD in physics and I want to get a job as a physicist (as opposed to becoming a computer programmer, software engineer, etc.), but I am probably not going to go into academia. So I'd like to know what's available in industry, especially the healthcare field.
  5. Jun 27, 2010 #4

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor