1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Support PF! Reminder for those going back to school to buy their text books via PF Here!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help a Physics grad read up on Chemistry

1. Apr 1, 2013 #1
    Hi all,

I am a grad student with a Physics BSc. For various reasons, I have never actually done a basic pure chemistry course, even at high school level. Naturally, I have come across many concepts from chemistry in my courses, but I lack the fundamental overview of the field, and I am very shaky on many of the basic terms and concepts. I therefore decided that I need to look into basic [sic] chemistry. I'm hoping that someone here might be of assistance in deciding on some learning materials.

I am hoping to find something else than a standard chemistry undergraduate book. As a grad student, I don't have oceans of time to devote to this (sadly), but I'm not looking for anything sugarcoated that risks going on behalf of scientific accuracy either. Ideally, a short, well written book introducing the fundamental concepts would be great (asking quite a lot here, I know).

Any suggestions?

Thanks a bunch

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 1, 2013 #2
  4. Apr 1, 2013 #3

xristy

Gold Member

couple of Atkins' texts

A calculus based honors introduction to chemistry: Chemical Principles and the upper division Molecular Quantum Mechanics are up-to-date and worth looking at. Neither is short but they don't sugar coat and you can skip around.

5. Apr 1, 2013 #4
    As a former student of chemistry who switched to physics, I second this. I consider it the Halliday-Resnick of chemistry.

6. Apr 4, 2013 #5
    Thanks a lot guys, excellent advice. I've ordered the Pauling book and will have a look at the other ones in the library.