1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Help, a very basic physics problem.

1. Aug 21, 2013 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

An object moves with the velocity of 3.7 m/s, ahead there is a "hill". How far up the "hill" will the object get before it stops? Calculate "h". Assume there is no friction.
    [Broken]

3. The attempt at a solution

Well, I really don't know much about how to calculate these things, I've done google searchs without results, do you know of any formulas I can use? And please if you do know the formula and decides to share it with me, explain what the certain letters mean so I don't just read, mgh=19Kpf and have no idea what anything means. I am extremely new to physics but find it very interesting (and yes I know the "equation" I wrote above isn't a real one, I was just making a point :))
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

Last edited by a moderator: May 6, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 21, 2013 #2

CAF123

Gold Member

What energy does the cart possess while moving along the straight? What energy does it possess when it is on the ramp? Relate these via energy conservation.

4. Aug 21, 2013 #3
    Well, since there is no friction, this implies that all the energy is conserved, with other words: energy will not get lost. So the total energy is constant.

In this case there are two kinds of energy: kinetic and potential.

Kinetic energy
    The kinetic energy is determined by the amount of velocity and the mass something has.
    The formula is: [itex]T=\frac{1}{2}mv^{2}[/itex]
    T=kinetic energy
    m=mass
    v=velocity

Potential energy