Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hi-pot test of a circuit with a diode

1. Apr 24, 2014 #1
    We manufacture crank case heaters and they are designed with an 800V 1A STD Recovery diode. We do not Hi-pot the heater with the diode in it we only test to make sure we have an ohm reading in one direction and an OL in the other.

However, our customer installs our heater into a system and Hi-pot the entire system. They do a 1 second test at 1.8 kV and then a ramped test maxing out at 3.25kV for one minute. I claim they are damaging if not destroying the diode by doing that test with it in the circuit which is leading to hi-amp readings at their final QC station if not total failures.

Not being an expert, I am just looking for some verification that their test could be or is damaging the diode thus causing failures. Now how and if I can design around their test is another issue.

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 24, 2014 #2

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Can you post a schematic of the system and how your heater is hooked up? Generally Hi-Pot testing is done with protection components removed from the circuit...

4. Apr 24, 2014 #3
    Schematic for heater diode installation

The schematic is rough but the circuit is simple. We integrate the diode into one of the leads of the heater after we test it and before we ship it. I think I attached the schematic.

Thanks

Attached Files:

5. Apr 24, 2014 #4

berkeman

Is the Hi-Pot voltage applied differentially across the heater wires (unlikely), or in common-mode with both wires with respect to the overall ground of the system (case of the heater?)?

6. Apr 24, 2014 #5
    It is the common-mode.

7. Apr 24, 2014 #6

berkeman

Then the diode should not be affected.

8. May 13, 2014 #7
    Mr. Berkeman,