Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

High Tire PSI = Better Performance

1. Sep 29, 2009 #1
    Hello,

I am a tactical driving instructor and a precision/stunt driver. For more than 15 years I use high PSI tire inflation method on my family car, tactical training courses or stunt performance cars.

Namely, if on the side wall of the tire manufacturer is indicating that maximum PSI 41, I inflate my tires at 51 PSI.

Different law enforcement agencies are using the same high PSI tire inflation technique, and the method is endorsed and recommended by highly qualified EVOC instructors and dedicated precision/stunt trainers.

One of the people endorsing the use of high PSI tires is, Bobby Ore, a veteran driver, with over 30 years of stunt driving experience, 13 world driving records, many standing to this day.
    He is a law enforcement certified instructor, training for 25 years federal agents like FBI, CIA, Secret Service and other numerous Law Enforcement agencies to drive in extreme tactical circumstances. In regards of driving I believe he is the most qualified driver I ever had the pleasure to meet and learn from.

Yet the amateur driving community in general is regarding the high PSI tire inflation method as a dangerous practice and any discussion on this topic in the automotive forums encounters a lot of resistance and reluctance, (flames) but none of the writers have neither experimented nor sat down and take the physics and/or tire dynamics in consideration.

The main counter-argument to high PSI tire inflation method is lack of tire traction leading to a poor handling, higher distance braking, danger of tire "explosion" and uneven tire wear in the middle. However in my personal experience none of those concerned are valid.