Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How back emf helps in energy conversion in a motor?

1. Aug 20, 2008 #1
    How back emf helps in energy conversion in a motor???

hello,
    I am an engineering student and during the past few days i was searching on the net to clarify my doubts on "motors".So i came across an article and on reading one part of it a doubt arosed in my mind.

Q1)

"To take a practical example, an electric motor running under no load
    uses very little power. If the motor were frictionless and
    superconducting, it would use no power. This is because the back emf
    opposes the imposed voltage."

This was the part of the article.My doubt is that If the motor was frictionless and
    superconducting will it rotate and produce mechanical energy??

Q2)Can you tell me how the electrical work done by the applied voltage in overcoming and causing current flow against back emf is possible??

Practically i know that when someone is pushing me in one direction inorder for me to oppose it i need to give an equal and opposite force.That is a push is required to oppose a push..
    So using this idea in motors our applied voltage must do an equal amount of work against this back emf.Hence our applied voltage must provide an equal amount of electrical energy to oppose the electrical energy produced by back emf..So if this was the condition can you tell me how this back emf aids in converting electrical energy to mechanical energy???
    Q3) What will happen if there was no back emf?

I hope to get a reply soon...

Thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 20, 2008 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Re: How back emf helps in energy conversion in a motor???

As soon as you try and remove any mechanical energy it will slow down, reduce the back emf and so draw current from the supply.