How can I calculate the amount of paint needed?

• Thread starter NMGMarques
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Paint
In summary, the individual needs help calculating the amount of paint needed to paint 500 rectangular pieces with dimensions of 580mm by 730mm and a thickness of 50 microns. They also want to add 30% over-spray for safety. There is a discussion about the calculations, with one person suggesting 10.58 liters while another mentions the importance of paint coverage and thickness. The individual mentions using a 2 component painting system and a percometer to measure paint thickness.
NMGMarques
Hi all.

So I need to calculate the approximate liters of paint needed to paint 500 pieces about 0.85m2 (580mm by 730mm rectangular pieces, 2 sided) each. The specifications allow thickness of 50 microns. Also I'd like to add 30% over-spray just in case.

How do I calculate the amount of paint needed?

I am not very good at math. But I did think it might be something along the lines of (number of pieces) * (area) * (thickness) then 1liter / result.

So basically 500*.85m^2*(50*0.001) = 21.25
followed buy
0.1m^3/21.25

But this gives me something so small I just don't understand which probably means it must be way off base.

Mathematics news on Phys.org
number of pieces * area * thickness gives you the volume of paint in cubic metres. Multiply this answer by 1000 to convert to litres and you have your answer. I didn't understand your last step. I think the area you calculated for each piece may also be wrong ... 0.58 * 0.73 = 0.423 sq metres. Maybe you typed in a wrong number. I think the answer is 10.58 litres without overspray

I don't understand why you did the second step. The volume of paint is just:

500 pieces * 0.85 m^2/piece * 50 microns * 10^(-6) m/micron * 1000 liters/m^3 = 21.25 liters

If you take into account your 30% overspray, it will take 21.25 * 1.3 = 27.6 liters.

Thanks both.

@nmf77: 0.423sq meters x 2 sides = aprox. 0.85 sq meters.