1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

A How can light propagate through Hollow optical fiber.

1. Jul 25, 2017 #1
    Now I am studying a bit of optical fibers. And of course generally optical fiber works because of total reflection property of the light, which happens when the light from higher medium hits the lower medium material.

However I recently found out that there also is a thing 'Hollow optical fiber' which the core is hollowed out, filled with an air. I think the propagation should not happen cuz total reflection won't work here, but it works perfectly fine. I've hit some papers and got some keywords like 'band gap waveguide', 'photonic crystal' etc... but still can not understand it.

Can you give me a brief explanation, or just let me know where should I start with first?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 26, 2017 #2

CWatters

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

4. Jul 26, 2017 #3

sophiecentaur

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

@KT KIM: How about a few references about this idea? If you've been reading then save us from having to search for what you're describing.

The hollow fibre seems to avoid the path loss through the glass so, if reflections can be made to rival the efficiency of TIR, the net loss over a long path could be less. We tend to assume that TIR is the only reflection worth considering. The above link seems to stress the improved transmission speed so, perhaps it's not so much aimed at long distance paths but at local connections. 3.5dB per km is not going to take you across the Atlantic easily.

5. Jul 26, 2017 #4

Andy Resnick

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

It's not clear to me if you are talking about photonic bandgap fibers (which can have a cavity in the center) or some sort of hollow 'light pipe'.