1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How much embedded programming in control/signal processing?

1. Oct 25, 2011 #1
    Hey there,

(I apologize if this is in the wrong section - please move it if it is)

I'm an EE undergrad, and I'm wondering how much embedded software/programming is involved in fields like control and signal processing. To be a bit more specific, by "embedded software," I'm referring to things such as programming microcontrollers/FPGAs, dealing with embedded/real-time OS, and writing device drivers.

I realize that embedded systems are so prevalent that it may be impossible to go into any area of EE without encountering them in some fashion, but I'd like to avoid dealing with them too frequently if at all possible. I can't really decide which among control, signal processing and analog electronics I find more interesting, while embedded systems has always scared me. Anyway, that's just an aside.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 25, 2011 #2
    I do control and signal processing design work (mainly embedded programming!) so here is my experience on the subject:

I doubt you will find any control projects that don't use embedded programming in some form.

Signal processing is more hybrid as most designs will have analog and digital portions (with some being strictly analog). There is definatley more room to do analog design work in this field.

4. Oct 27, 2011 #3
    Hey Floid,

Thanks for replying. If you don't mind me asking a few other questions, what sort of embedded programming do you mostly do in your control projects? For instance, is the work mostly implementing control algorithms, or is it more along the lines of writing device drivers? How important, for example, is a knowledge of (RT)OS concepts and kernels?

Thanks again!