Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to control energy by adjusting how much needed

1. Apr 14, 2010 #1
    Hello everyone,

I have no background in any engineering, however I do believe I should have picked it up in school (wasn't much of a school guy).

Anyways, I have been thinking really hard last year and this year on something I would like to create, however I do not have the electrical skills, so I'm reaching out to you!

What I am looking to do is create an energy source for my home to act as it's own power source, I will not go into details on how, that's for me to know only. The question I have for everyone here, is if I create this energy source, how do I stablize it so that if I'm powering up something, it doesn't over power it and possibly burn it out or cause a fire, if I'm making any sense?

Basically a stabilizer that will adjust the energy output giving what's powered on in the home?

Examples: I have the house with all the lights on, giving the energy output to make all the lights on in the house work?

Or if I have some of the lights on in the house, it's giving the proper energy for them to work?

I may be thinking about this too hard, but I want to make sure, because the way I will be creating this energy there is no telling how much I will be generating and to even control it?

Please let me know, I appreciate all of your great minds, please share them in pointing me to the right direction!

Thanks again!
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 14, 2010 #2

Science Advisor

There are plenty of ways to protect your house from too much power.

You can have cut-outs that stop the power if there is too much current flowing and other devices that will cut the power if the voltage is too high.

One of the things you might have learned at school was that energy cannot be created or destroyed.