Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

How to emigrate to USA?

1. Oct 20, 2011 #1
    Hi,

I'm not sure why I'm posting here but because Physicists generally know everything...

Im British and I have a First Class Honours degree in Physics (the highest grade possible in the british system) and I'm currently doing a masters in applied mathematics and computing (finishing next september) and I really want to work in the USA after completion.

So how would I go about doing this? I literally have no idea where to start and I want to do my research early. Obviously I need a visa and a job offer, both are extremely difficult to come by - but I just need a starting place! I would be looking for anything mathematical such as finance (I do a lot of finance modules) or I.T.

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 20, 2011 #2
    Anecdote, take it FWIW: I know someone that emigrated from the Arab Emirates and did his undergraduate degree in the US, later got a job there. The employer basically has to be willing to "sponsor your visa" or something to that avail, generally it'll only happen if its a high paying/skilled job. After that, getting a permanent residency status is apparently easier.

However I have no idea how this works for EU nationals, perhaps obtaining a greencard is easier. You could start by looking at the INS' webpage.

4. Oct 24, 2011 #3
    I would be interest in having details too. I am finishing my master in theoretical physics this year in France, I would like to have an experience in the US/Canada. I think it's too late to apply for a Phd starting next September but maybe for an internship starting in March?

5. Oct 25, 2011 #4
    NO! Now is the time to apply for doctoral programs if you want to enroll in Fall 2012.

6. Oct 25, 2011 #5
    Is there a chance for student who needs internship?

7. Oct 25, 2011 #6

jtbell

Staff: Mentor