How to get into the semiconductor industry

Hi friends,

I'm a brazilian Electronics Engineering undergrad student, going to graduate in 3 semesters. I'm also in the first semester of my Masters in Atomic and Molecular Physics, focused on ab initio simulation of semiconductor crystals (VASP).

My main interest is to work in industry in the field of semiconductors, CMOS technologies, and quantum technologies in general (and preferably in Europe). But as my research is on computational physics, I feel that the lack of laboratory experience will drag me down or even make me ineligible for such positions.

Is laboratory experience needed before joining the workforce, or will employers give me the necessary training? How hard is to get into this area? Is computational physics valuable in the industry?

Thank you all :) any advice/story is welcome

Answers and Replies

berkeman
Mentor
Is laboratory experience needed before joining the workforce
@analogdesign can add to the responses :smile:

Does your school have a basic IC fab as part of its lab facilities? If not, is there an IC fab nearby that you have access to for projects?

What simulation software (other than VASP) have you learned and used for your projects in school?

https://www.vasp.at/

Hey berkeman, thanks for the reply

In my masters I'm exclusively using VASP to simulate III-V alloys and python to develop pre and post-processing tools. In my bachelor degree I use SPICE for circuit simulation and MATLAB for control/ telecommunications/ general purpose programming.

Sadly my school doesnt have an IC fab, but it seems that I can request access and training at a lab in a close city. I could even look for training in other countries if needed though o0)

Likes berkeman
analogdesign
Science Advisor