Hydrostatic pressure in a bottle of water on ISS

In summary: So in essence, there is a small net force pulling things towards the center of the spacecraft.Welcome @Induana !No, ##\rho g h## is the pressure difference between two points at different heights in a gravitational field.
Induana
TL;DR Summary
Hydrostatic pressure equals heightxdensityxg Does that mean that the bottle will have zero hydrostatic pressure when it is in a state of weightlessness?
Hello,
I am new in physics but I really like it so far. I have a question about hydrostatic pressure. I know that hydrostatic pressure equals (height)x(density)x(g). Am I right if I say that hydrostatic pressure in a bottle of water on ISS (state of weightlessness) will be zero ?
Thank you for your answers

Astronomy news on Phys.org
No, ##\rho g h## is the pressure difference between two points at different heights in a gravitational field.

Being in free fall, the hydrostatic pressure inside a fluid at the ISS will be the same as the ambient pressure inside the ISS (which is non-zero - astronauts need to breathe).

Likes vanhees71 and Ibix
Welcome @Induana !

Orodruin said:
No, ##\rho g h## is the pressure difference between two points at different heights in a gravitational field.

Being in free fall, the hydrostatic pressure inside a fluid at the ISS will be the same as the ambient pressure inside the ISS (which is non-zero - astronauts need to breathe).
I think you're mixing together static pressure and hydrostatic pressure. Hydrostatic pressure is pressure due to height difference in gravity. In orbit you still have a height difference, but what you don't have is an apparent g, so hydrostatic pressure is zero.

But you do have static pressure, which is a more general term for pressure of a fluid not in motion. Static pressure is provided by the gas temperature, density and being an enclosed volume.

Lnewqban said:
Welcome @Induana !

Why don't they use bags?

russ_watters said: