Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Hyperbolic Geometry in special relativity

1. Aug 20, 2012 #1
    Hi, I am new to the study of special relativity but think I understand it pretty well from the common circular geometrical framework. How important is it that I also understand it from the hyperbolic perspective and what would I gain over my current circular understanding?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 20, 2012 #2

Mentz114

Gold Member

4. Aug 20, 2012 #3

robphy

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

What common(?) circular geometrical framework are you specifically referring to?

5. Aug 20, 2012 #4
    Sorry, I mean circular as far as the standard non-hyperbolic unit-circle analyses that do not use hyperbolic trig functions in their explanations of the science.

6. Aug 20, 2012 #5
    Alright, let me put it another way, my basic understanding of special relativity relies mainly on the popular conceptions of implementing the lorentze transformation in regards to relative motion. In my experience, I have not until recently been advised that I need to supplant this framework with one that analyzes and implements hyperbolics in this pursuit. Is this absolutley necessary, or can I just stick with my colloquial interpretation?

7. Aug 20, 2012 #6

bcrowell

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Like the others who have posted in this thread, I don't understand what the OP is referring to. StationZero, you're using terms like hyperbolic geometry in nonstandard ways, which makes it harder to figure out what you mean. You seem to have in mind two different ways of presenting SR, and you're asking whether they're both OK, or whether one is better than the other. Can you point us to some online sources that present these so that we can tell what you're referring to?

8. Aug 21, 2012 #7
  9. Aug 21, 2012 #8
  10. Aug 21, 2012 #9

robphy