Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I am 14 years old and made a chemistry software

1. Apr 13, 2016 #1
    Hello everyone. I am a 14 year old student and am truly fascinated by chemistry.
    As I tried various software, they all had a very complicated UI (User Interface) and confused me a lot as a younger student. After searching a lot, I decided to make my own chemistry software. This is the final result after 5 months of work.

What could I add to the software?

Are there any very important things I should work on?

I have a pretty good understanding (I learn everything from internet, I already know the things we learn in class) on how it all works, so just comment everything you can think of!

PS: I am now working on better scaling. I totally forgot that there are things called "atom radii".

Edited by mentor

Last edited by a moderator: Apr 13, 2016
  2. jcsd
  3. Apr 13, 2016 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Your software looks very good for a start. One thing we couldn't determine from the video was how it would be used by someone designing a molecule.

Do you just select atoms and then move them to create a molecule? Or does your program have the smarts to figure that out and bond them properly?

Have you looked at other programming systems like processing.org IDE to develop your application?

Lastly, we had to remove the link to steam as it looked a lot like an advertizement and we don't allow that on PF.

4. Apr 14, 2016 #3

DrDu

Science Advisor

Is there a link to the software or video?

5. Apr 14, 2016 #4

jedishrfu